25th Nov, 2020

Sporting Club Redditch crowned Bromsgrove League Division Two champions

Craig Gibbons 28th Apr, 2017

SPORTING Club Redditch have been crowned champions of Division Two of the Bromsgrove League following their 3-0 victory over Studley Lions.

Goals from Dan Sill, Jay Gifford and Billy Garvey secured the win for Redditch on Tuesday night, just two days after they enjoyed a 2-0 victory over Awkies Allstars.

Gifford bagged both goals in that win.

Six goals from Nick Briggs and a hat-trick from Roland Rignall had guided Lions to an emphatic 12-3 victory at Callowbrook Swifts Green at the weekend.

Sam Smith, Tommy Blewett and Jamie Hatfield were also on target for the visitors.

Elsewhere, in Division Two, AFC Northfield beat Hizza United 7-1. Aaron Westwood (3), Ben Dugmore (2), Daniel Ludlow and Aaron Roberts netted for Northfield.

Black Horse extended their lead at the top of the Premier Division to five points as they thrashed Belbroughton Athletic 10-0.

In the sole Division One game, four goals from Ellis Kalach inspired Red Lion to an 8-1 victory at Quinton Athletic. Pete Jenvey (2), Dan Bearcroft and Jarrell Hepburn also netted for Lion while Matt Carter bagged a consolation for Athletic.

Division Three leaders Stoke Works moved a step close to securing the title following their 4-3 victory at Meadow Park Youth, with goals from Ryan Cooper (2), Paul Halfpenny and Ben Johnson.

Matthew Remes hit a hat-trick as Arrow Valley eased past Stoke Prior 8-0 while Bromsgrove Corinthians narrowly defeated Chaddesley Corbett Reserves 3-2.

Tom Mason, Alex Beck and Simon Johnson scored the goals for Corinthians.

In the other game, Cofton Old Boys beat Rubery Legends 3-1.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Bromsgrove Standard newspaper

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Bromsgrove Standard